Month: September 2010

  • I Love My Xanga Family

    … I always have and I always will. Even though I don’t post here often, this place will always have a feeling of “home” and it is because all of you who read here.

    Facebook, Schamacebook was a time-waster for me, as I have no family who read here. My “family” on the net is all of you, who I have grown to love, and care about and think about on a daily basis. So whilst I balk at all of the bells and whistles I don’t have the time to figure out here I will always be forever grateful to the lifelong X-friends I have made here.

    Anyway, I stopped blogging when I had an epiphany that people really didn’t care about my life. But the reality was that I still cared, very much about theirs, so I have been lurking and reading entries delivered to my inbox and loving each and every one of you through it.

    But it is time for me to throw something up here.

    As I am now older and supposedly wiser …

    So Lessee … …

    I am still married to the same tolerant man who I said “I do” to 26+ years ago.

    We are raising two of the most beautiful children ever. One working and attending community college and the other in his sophomore year in special ed. They are our joy, and spending the day with one  or both of them is a true gift that was realized for our birthdays this year. I turned 49 on Monday. I asked for the day as a vacation day. I practiced being lazy. It was fun. My husband and daughter worked all day. They arrived home after 5. My daughter had already purchased the food to cook my b-day dinner. It was delish. We watched Eddie Izzard comedy routines streamed through the Wii while we ate. Good stuff. Husband cleaned up. Who needs presents after a night like that?

    On Tuesday I was called into action … to “make” the gift my daughter had ordered for her dad. Because she had night class. She bought him filet mignon steakes and dipping sauce from Hearst (as in William Randolph) Ranch. So I was called into action to prepare Filet Mignon (butterflied because we like meat well done) with melted goat cheese and balsamic vinegar syrup. It.Was.Delish. The Carrot Cake from http://kksbundtcakes.com/cm/Home.html was excellent as well. But the best part of it all was spending time with my family. Laughing at 3rd Rock from the sun DVD episodes while we opened presents.

    I am learning late in life that birthdays are not so much about the ‘stuff’ as about the time. Time that I was able to spend with my family.

    I Love You All for Being a part of it.

    slocyn