September 10, 2012

  • It not only speaks but it SCREAMS in my house …

     

     

     

    For any of my long-time readers who wonder what happened to me? I am still here. I simply (?) became the mother to a teenaged son … with autism. Suffice it to say I am now “getting” why people felt sorry for, or were in awe of the fact that I was a special needs mom. Let me just say that the first 12-13 years of living with a diagnosis of autism have been a walk in the park, compared to the past 12-18 months … of having to raise another TEENAGER (Jessica is still alive and well but it was touch and go for us all for awhile there) … and this time one who cannot communicate his wants/needs/feelings/hatred of me.

    NOT.AN.EASY.TIME. for anyone.

    We have finally had to throw our hands up and beg for assistance … from doctors … teachers and behavior interventionists. This has been my life, while trying to hold down the only job that provides insurance benefits. So … if you wonder where I’ve been or why I don’t answer your texts, or emails or phone calls or comment on your Facebook status? Please don’t take it personally. I am still here … reading when I can. Missing my dear Xanga friends, and wishing I had more time to call my own.

Comments (7)

  • I have often heard that the teen years with an autistic child were not easy but I know you will make it through this rough time.

  • Do what you need for you and your family….I will keep you in my thougts and prayers for a bit of sanity when you most need it.

  • I think of you and your family often. Sending much love.

  • You have done a fantastic job so far and I know you will continue to achieve what most of us can only imagine.

  • Sending you love and wishing for another visit. It is SO past due.

  • My prayers are with you. You are a tougher cookie than I am. I don’t know if I could handle it. Thanks for the update and I wish you well. If/when you get the chance, just look up shadesofannie on Facebook and you will find me. take care my friend and much love and many hugs sent your way!

  • ~ thinking of you ~  I hope that things have calmed down some for you, since you last updated here.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *